jump to navigation

Coffee cup quiche June 9, 2013

Posted by Charles in Recipes and food.

My friend Joe recently posted a BuzzFeed article on my Facebook wall titled “18 Microwave Snacks You Can Cook In A Mug“. The very first one was Coffee Cup Quiche, which I just had to try.

The recipe was first published in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, and you can find it here. If the link doesn’t work, here’s a list of ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tbsp milk
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 of a bagel or similar amount of French bread, etc.
  • 2 tsp cream cheese
  • 1/2 slice prosciutto or ham
  • Fresh thyme leaves or fresh chopped chives
  • Dijon mustard

Making it is really simple. You beat the eggs and milk with a fork in a coffee cup, add salt and pepper to taste, tear up the bread into small pieces, add cream cheese, and tear up the ham and stir it all in (in that order). Sprinkle thyme and microwave, then add mustard, thyme, or chives.

The recipe on the website says to microwave for 1 minute 10 seconds. I ended up having to microwave mine for about three times that, which may have been due to the fact that my mug was large (the quiche only filled half my mug).

The beauty of this recipe is that, like aglio e olio, it’s extremely easy to make, and fast, too. It also tastes a lot like quiche, though I must say I didn’t have thyme, chives, or mustard–I used a bit of oregano instead. The detractors from this recipe are minor–with a larger mug, the center may take much longer to cook than the outside, the mug is fairly difficult to clean, and many of the bagel pieces I added sank to the bottom of the mug. I may have added a bit too much bagel, and this may have been avoided had I stirred the mixture a bit more before microwaving.

coffee cup quiche

The third easiest breakfast you’ll ever make behind cereal and instant oatmeal.

I’m eyeing #8 (mac and cheese) and #13 (cheesecake) for my next microwave cooking adventure and I’ll post about them after trying them.


No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

